Bull Roar

STB_3766

George Clooney, my bull, growled at me in the pasture yesterday.  Growled, you say? Yes.

Cattle make many different noises.  Katika has at least four calls: her usual moo; “calf talk,” which are low organ notes — mmmm — that she uses with her own calves; another version of this quiet note that she uses with me (mmmm? — “Aren’t you done milking yet?” or “Have you forgotten me standing here patiently?”); and the excited bellow when she’s in heat and looking for love. Calves bawl, sounding almost like sheep: “Meh!  Meh!” And when I bring Katika in morning and night for milking, leaving Georgie and our visitor Roxanne in the pasture, they do not comfort each other but instead stand at the fenceline, voicing their individual protests.  Georgie’s bellows are high and distraught — a mmmmmooooo!!! that is almost a shriek.  Stolid Roxanne has a deep, monotonous, unceasing bellow that sounds like a foghorn.

The roar of a bull is entirely different from all of these. I first read about it in Mary O’Hara’s children’s book, Green Grass of Wyoming, a second sequel to her bestselling My Friend Flicka.  In the story, the prize bull Cricket trees the hero’s mother and baby sister in a pasture and then paces beneath them, roaring and trying to knock the tree down to get them. The scene was terrifying and indelible. When I heard a bull roar, almost forty years later, I knew exactly what it was.

I raised Ferdinand, my first Jersey bull, on a bottle.  When he came to me he was a sick day-old calf and lived in our kitchen in a playpen (it was December).  He became extremely tame.  I brushed him every day and even Lucy, at 7, could lead him anywhere.

Katika, Sel, Lucy, and Ferdinand, spring 2005

Katika, Sel, Lucy, and Ferdinand, spring 2005

I didn’t realize then that this was a recipe for disaster.  Much later I read this brief passage in my copy of  A Veterinary Guide for Animal Owners:

There is quite a bit of risk involved with [keeping a bull], especially if you have a dairy bull.  No matter how tame a bull seems, you always have to remember that he is a bull.  Most people are not hurt by a mean bull because these bulls are watched constantly.  It is the tame, friendly bull that is dangerous.

… I’ve seen a bull lift the front end of a tractor like a tinker toy, and another push out the whole end of a barn, beams and all.  I’ve seen one who walked through a five-strand barbed wire fence as if it were string, and another get a man down, kneel on him, and ignore pitchforks stuck into him in an effort to get him off.  These are not scare stories but facts to consider…

Ferdinand was about ten months old, and still perfectly friendly with me, when some young men in their early 20s stopped by my barn to help me stack a truckload of hay.  The change in Ferdy was dramatic.  Clearly he did not like these strange people in his barn.  He lowered his head, turned broadside, the hair on his neck bristled, and he stalked up and down his stall, roaring.  A bull roar is described as being like the roar of a lion. (Here is an audio clip of a bull roaring; open and click preview play.)  In that small barn, I found it unearthly — the roar of a Tyrannosaurus Rex in a Steven Spielberg movie.  The hair rose on my own neck.

Now, Ferdinand was still the size of a pony.  How could anyone be afraid of a bull so small?  But there was something in his angry, glaring, almost reddened eyes that stopped such questions.  At that point, he wasn’t angry or aggressive with me but I now realized he could be.  And small for a bull or not, a 750-lb battering ram is no joke.  It was the beginning of the end for Ferdinand.

From then on, I never turned my back on him. When he came in at night (the snow was deep and I couldn’t bear to lock him out), Ferdy would sometimes stop and stare at me, measuringly. He pushed me into walls — not yet with intent to harm, but just to establish that he could. I started carrying a sawed-off 2×4 in the back pocket of my coveralls during chores, just in case. I put a lunge whip in the rafters of my low-ceilinged barn where I could reach it if I were suddenly cornered.  But I was afraid.  Tense weeks passed.  Finally, two days before Christmas, I could no longer stand the strain of worrying I’d be alone and attacked.  I called the local butcher, who shot him through the fence while he had his head down, eating a pan of grain.  Ferdinand never knew a thing.  I was sad, and Katika went un-bred that year, but I felt an enormous weight roll off my shoulders.

Since then I’ve raised my bulls differently.  They are tame but still wary of me.  When scampering young bulls try to push me, playing, in the pasture, I bash them with a swinging bucket — my version of a cow’s irritated kick or head-butt that teaches them to respect my space.  Still, they are dear babies for so long that you can be lulled.

STA_3765

George Clooney is not quite eleven months old.  His rumbling growl yesterday wasn’t a real challenge.  It was teenaged back-talk. Rudeness and sass. He didn’t roar at me.  But when I heard the growl I looked up from where I was spreading hay in the pasture, saw him standing broadside to me and staring me in the eye (both challenges) and felt a chill. I was seventy-five feet from the electric fence, with Georgie between it and me.  I had nothing in my hands or pockets to swing at him, and in the bare pasture there was nothing either.  I had been very, very foolish.

I kept myself broadside to him (though a human “broadside” is not so broad), stared back, and used my equivalent of a growl — my sharp teacher voice.  “Knock it off, Georgie!” I snapped, and walked forward toward the gate.  Georgie looked away and gave ground, and I got out of the pasture.  But I won’t do that again.

When I got home I called the butcher and made his date with destiny.

Fall is a busy time for butchers, with livestock cycles coinciding with deer season. Georgie won’t go until mid-December.  Until then he will be growing bigger and more dangerous.  I expect he’ll soon be roaring. I’ll be as careful as can be.

People always ask me, “How can you eat those darling calves?”  It is hard to explain that though I love all my animals, I will be counting the days.

11 Responses to Bull Roar

  1. tcuppminiatures says:

    Great entry and with your permission, I would love to link to it from my blog.

    Tammy

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Of course, Tammy! The more people are aware of the danger, the better. I shudder to hear of that mini-bull you’ve got on loan going to anyone unprepared. For some reason, as I learned myself, when animals that are supposed to be very BIG are still small, it appears to be human nature not to be unduly concerned. However, I realized later that if you think in terms of just weight, the reality hits you. “Would I be worried if I might be attacked by a 750-lb (or 300-lb) DOG?” The answer becomes very clear. But it seems to take some tough or scary experience to reach this understanding.

  2. Jane Wellker says:

    Now I can understand your decisions to butcher them. Wow, I had no idea of the danger. I am still trying to convince people of my fear of snapping turtles after all of our “family encounters” and the one that “growled” at Rozzie and me after she was barking at it. If a turtle can growl, (it DID!) think of a bull!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I remember that turtle growling! And yes, with bulls it’s kind of crazy. I just found and added an audio clip of a bull roaring. It’s fairly intimidating when it’s right next to you in a small space!

  3. tcuppminiatures says:

    Thank you! I have been “preaching” about bull safety for several years. Although I know some get annoyed with it, I won’t stop sharing how important it is to raise bull calves correctly and exercise caution at all times.

    Please be careful. BTW, George Clooney lives up to his name sake and is quite handsome! 🙂 I’m sure he will really taste GOOD!

    Tammy

  4. Noodles says:

    I will never forget your sharing the advice you were getting from fellow farmers all over the world when that was happening with Ferdinand. Didn’t one of them suggest a cattle prod? Now that sounded sensible.

    Love from the sister who has heard neither bulls nor turtles growl (someone has to love New York and vagabond travel while the two of you take care of the natural world)–

    N.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, a “Hot Shot.” A Hot Shot is about the length of Harry Potter’s wand, or a little shorter, and has two electric stingers at the end. There were a few problems with that, though.
      1) expense
      2) danger of stinging oneself
      3) need to aim
      4) works best on the rear end, but you’re attacked by the front end…

      That’s why I went with the 2×4 to be slammed right across the face, particularly the soft nose (forehead is like a rock). This sudden bash of course would make the bull angrier but the hope is it gives you enough time to get through the fence.

      We were talking about bulls on the cow board and a dairyman in England told of having to use three men, a tractor on one side and a bucket loader on the other, to move one dangerous bull! I don’t let my bulls get that big or cantankerous.

  5. Dinerdon says:

    Just listened to the bull roar audio clip. It’s so comforting to know that you can even download it as a ringtone. Imagine when that phone rings in a meeting, in a busy crowd, or at church!

  6. Jane Wellker says:

    Don, I’ll be looking to hear that as your ringtone in October when I see you guys! Hey Sel, did you take the Bull Roar off? I wanted to show the kids.

  7. Jane Wellker says:

    Oops I found it. It had lost it’s highlight. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

