Pond photos

Somewhere I have photos of my land in 2005 after it was originally stumped by Allen and Damon, when Neddy’s pond was first dug. However I can’t find them, and more recent photos of the pond were lost when my hard drive crashed. So you will just have to imagine a large, half-acre narrow crater running north to south.

Allen had excavated around these ten-foot-tall boulders and I’d hoped they would be diving platforms over sparkling water.

Unfortunately my soil is so gravelly that the water only rose a couple of feet. Five years later, you can see that cattails and rushes have moved in. Poplar took hold on the left side of the boulders, and and to the right you can see the hole has started to be filled in with stumps and brush.

Looking from north to south, the old pond had become largely a dry wash of gravel with a silver bottom of water under a forest of cattails. The south pasture is above left.  Sadly, the steep fall in grade means that any pond I ever manage to establish here will be invisible from the house.

If you click to enlarge this photo you’ll see the beginning of the future pond in the distance.

The three fillers on the north end:  tons of stumps and broken logs dumped by the Yuke when cleaning up after logging, boulders (each at least four feet across) pulled from the pasture above by Allen, and cattails.

Looking down from the edge of the south pasture at the start of a new, smaller pond. This is still part of the pond as originally outlined by Allen but dredged and deepened. (One section is over rock ledge and so will never be deeper than about a foot. I foresee lots of wading in rubber boots, pulling cattails, in spring time.)

Forty-foot-long piles of excavated fill waiting to be bulldozed. I’m hoping Leon may be able to start this on Friday.

The start of the new pond, taken from below. (Double-click to see it larger.) Few people except me, tending the pigs, and cross-country skiers looping the property in winter will see this view. But I hope eventually the pond will be three or four times this size.

I love all ponds. Even at my tiny, imperfect strip of water threading between cattails I’ve seen frogs, ducks, wild turkey, and deer, and a great blue heron stops by regularly to fish.

4 Responses to Pond photos

  1. Tammy Cupp says:

    The last photo with the view in the background is just gorgeous!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Tammy. I have seen photos of YOUR lovely, lovely farm so I know how kind you are. But I am happy here up north with this little piece of ground that I’m trying to improve!

  2. Link says:

    I agree…ponds can make such a beautiful addition to a landscape. Our soil here in SW Ohio contains much clay. That is frustrating for some things (like gardening), but wonderful for ponds holding water. We have a half acre in front of our house that is just begging for a pond! I would love someday to make it a reality. Good luck to you.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Link, how lucky you are in your Ohio clay! I always read Gene Logsdon’s books and Louis Bromfield’s Malabar Farm, in all of which folks are constantly and painlessly digging a pond on a summer’s day, and I think, “Why am I not trying to learn to farm in Ohio?” 😉

Leave a Reply

