Goodbye, N.A.

My father-in-law died last night at 81. His illness was extremely short. He did not suffer. However it is my observation that short final illnesses, while a blessing for the person dying, can be very hard on the surrounding family. DH had just arrived back in the States from Asia and is in San Francisco. His younger sister is in Virginia. Their other sister was at their father’s bedside.

Yesterday was spent on the telephone. Today will mean telling Lucy. Just hearing that Papa was very sick had her sobbing for hours. He was her last surviving grandparent.

The next few days will likely be crammed with emotion and logistics as DH flies home and immediately drives to New Hampshire and we make plans to join him there. I pray I can be a warm and loving support to my husband and his sisters in this difficult time.

7 Responses to Goodbye, N.A.

  1. Tammy Cupp says:

    Selden,

    You and your family are in my prayers during this time of loss.

    Much love to you,

    Tammy

  2. Janene says:

    Oh Selden, big hugs and prayers for you and your family!
    Janene

  3. Margo Nikolopoulou says:

    My condolences to your family, Selden….
    In the time of loss, love and mutual support, blessing with fond memories is everything we can hold on…..
    Thinking of you,
    Margo

  4. Liz says:

    My deepest heartfelt condolences Selden. Know that you are a special person to me and we will be holding you very close in our hearts during this tough time. Hugs and love to a favorite cow sister,
    Liz

  5. Lee Anne says:

    Dearest Selden, you and your family are in my prayers during these hard days.

  6. Oh, my goodness. My most heartfelt sympathy and condolences to you and your family at this time. This has been the utmost trying year for your heart and soul. I will continue keeping you in my prayers for God to provide you with strength and all else needed to help you get to a shore in life with peaceful open doors to happier times.

  7. Regina says:

    Will be praying for peace in your household and comfort. I’m late, I’m sorry. I’ve been gone to Wisconsin, we’ve a family member who is leaving us slowly.

Leave a Reply

