A quick (and blurry!) glimpse

Jon came by for a couple of hours yesterday afternoon to help decorate the Christmas tree. Both dogs, the cat, and Lucy jumped all over him, beside themselves with joy.

Of course, Bing Crosby was singing on the stereo. My parents played this same album throughout my childhood ā€” surely my little sister and I were the only small girls happily bellowing “Mele kaliki maka!” in our suburban Connecticut town? ā€” and DH and I have had it, too, since Jon was a baby.

During the years when we had to travel at Christmas, I always packed the cassette along with Jonny’s Fisher-Price tape recorder, so we would never be without. Now I only have to hear der Bingle moan “I-I-I-I-‘m dreeeeeeeeeaming of a whi-i-i-i-i-te Christmas” and I’m instantly connected to decades of family holidays.

What nostalgia! If I close my eyes, maybe Dad is fixing orange juice in the kitchen. Or Jon in breathless excitement is coming to wake me, wearing his footie pajamas.

5 Responses to A quick (and blurry!) glimpse

  1. Rae says:

    That is the best Christmas album EVER! I’ve been playing it for about a week now at home. It drives my guy nuts, but it stirs up the nostalgia for me as well. I remember grandma’s nativity set, pajamas from Santa, and sitting in front of the hearth while a family member read Twas the Night Before Christmas. Love it!

  2. tcuppminiatures says:

    Sweet, sweet photo. Christmas is a time for miracles…………no matter how small.

    Merry Christmas, Selden.

  3. Marsha says:

    Oh we had this album too!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Jane Wellker says:

    Well the tradition goes on in our house too. Jingle Bells with the Andrew Sisters was my favorite. Ji-i-i-ingle Bells, Ja- Ja- Ja- Ja- Jingle Bells, Jingle all the Wa-a-a ay-ya a!
    I’ve gone through about 2 tapes and 2 or 3 CDs. The kids really love it though!
    I’m glad you wrote that post. I don’t think they would have believed that was the only album we played endlessly. Still the best ever though! šŸ™‚

  5. Susanna says:

    Nick and I have that album memorized! Singing the “ja-ja-jingle bells” line over and over is a guaranteed way to drive any family member a little bonkers. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

