Small Moment of Joy

Every once in a while I am overtaken by a surge of pure contentment. Such was the other night.

It was 4:45 PM, dark and cold, snow was falling, I was struggling to muck a pile of frozen manure out of the barn aisle, haul it outside, and dump it, before racing home to start dinner and get on with my pressing list… when I looked back at the barn and saw the light spilling from the windows and open door. As the snow sifted down I stood there, gazing.

No single photo can show the bright pine shavings bedding the stalls, the clean water in the filled buckets, the horse, cows, and sheep all munching hay, the barn kittens curled up in their cozy fleece nest. But I knew all were there.

And I did it, I thought. I made this happen.

Sometimes the responsibility feels heavy and lonely. But other times, like that night, happiness just grabs me by the throat.

3 Responses to Small Moment of Joy

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Selden that picture is just beautiful and peaceful! You can almost smell the hay and hear the rustling of the animals.

  2. Missy says:

    Hi there. I started reading your blog from a link from KFC.
    Your barn looks gorgeous. I wish I could walk through it and smile too. Missy.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Missy! My barn is a kit from Shelter-Kit in New Hampshire and I built it with my son and his friend Brenden when they were 19 and 18, back in 2006. I love it!

Leave a Reply

