Happy New Year!

I planned to go to church this morning but a freezing rain is falling, dampening my enthusiasm for tackling the winding road down the mountain. Instead I shall stay home, undress the Christmas tree, put away all the holiday decorations, scrub and vacuum to return the house to a semblance of tidiness, and generally get myself ready for the new year. The past two weeks have been something of a forced march and I will glad to putter quietly and regroup. Perhaps I will even have time to finish some half-written posts.

DH gave me a CD of hymns for Christmas and as is my wont I’ve been listening to it ever since. I’ve discovered to my great pleasure that I know most of the hymns from my childhood, though none by name.

It makes me happy to wash dishes while singing along with “All Creatures of Our God and King,” sew patches on my coveralls by the fire while listening to “I Need Thee Every Hour,” or muck stalls to the tune of “How Great Thou Art.” A perfect present.

I’ll put the hymns on this morning and let the apartment ring.

Leave a Reply

