An Unplugged Week

On New Year’s Eve we gave a party for about sixty people at DH’s cabin. It was an early supper party, from 5:30 to 8 PM. Lots of people brought small children.

Lucy and her friend Anabell built candle lanterns in the snow to light the walk from the barn.

That was a big hit. Just beautiful in the dark night. Tiki torches were stuck in the snow around the cabin, to light the outdoor buffet tables.

While I wrestled with the supper and DH set out drinks and hors d’oeuvres, Alex, 15, was in charge of the bonfire. Here are Anabell and Alex exulting when the snowy, wet wood finally caught. The three kids manned the fire all evening and did a great job.

The weather cooperated perfectly. It was warm in the 20s and the sky cleared with frosty stars. I think people had a good time.

DH went back to work on Tuesday and Lucy went back to school on Wednesday. For me this has been a quiet week of taking down Christmas, cleaning, folding laundry, catching up on paperwork, and reading. Very peaceful. I had many other tasks on my list, but my willpower to get anything more heroic accomplished was gone. DH and Jon gave me used books for Christmas and mentally I’ve been back in the 1860s, deep in the letters of Louisa May Alcott.

However we’re due to have 4-8 inches of snow in the next twenty-four hours, so I must snap out of it. I will run into town for fresh veggies today and then hunker down to make my new year Winter Chore List.

Having The LIST is always the first step.

One Response to An Unplugged Week

  1. Amy says:

    Your photos are always so beautiful. That sunrise just makes me want to enjoy it with a cup of coffee.

    Your daughter and her friend did an awesome job with those snow lanterns. What a delight it must have been to walk that path to the party!

    Best of luck with all that snow. Your harsh weather reminds me we here in Western WA with all our rain (and temps dipping below freezing again overnight over the next week) could have it worse! Seattle drivers trying to cope with 48″ of snow? God help us all, LOL!

Leave a Reply

