Blizzard!

We got eighteen inches of new snow last night and it is still coming down hard this morning. I got my truck stuck just trying to get clear of our school driveway. Yesterday’s thaw had left the bottom layer of snow so heavy and wet, “It’s like plowing cement,” the head of maintenance yelled to me. My truck was held fast in a three-foot bank thrown up by a passing plow at the end of the driveway. Though I started digging, I was very grateful when one of the maintenance guys drove by in a Bobcat and pulled me out with a chain. I could hear via his crackling radio that trucks were stuck all over campus. Mike was stuck while plowing a driveway across the street.

Mike had plowed my place last night when we’d only had about eight inches. When I hear the rattle of the plow I always drop my pitchfork and go outside to thank him. “I’m ready for all this to stop,” he greeted me morosely. When Mike isn’t smiling, you know he is tired. Though he makes good money plowing, he is sick of snow. This winter has been great for skiers but hard on the men behind the plows. He is out late at night and up early in the morning, plowing for all his clients. “I’m sorry, Mike,” I said, patting his arm. “I really appreciate it. Maybe next year I should take you to Florida!” That made him smile.

Now I wondered if I would be able to get in the farm driveway at all.  I drove down the highway at a crawl, windshield wipers beating against the snow. Hooray for Mike! He had been out early and broken a single lane all the way down to the barn.

It took me two hours to dig out doors, muck the stalls into the aisle, dump and refill water buckets, and turn out the cows and Birch. I will go down again after lunch and bring them in early, and haul all the stacked manure out of the barn. In the meantime I will try to catch up on old posts and maybe even start packing for vacation.

Early this morning DH looked out at the snow completely burying his little car and exclaimed, “What great ski conditions!” He gave me a playful hug. “Don’t you feel sad you’re going south?”

I laughed out loud. Sad? Not blooming likely! Florida, we are counting down to blast off!

*    *    *

4 PM. The snow has stopped. We got about eight more inches today, bringing the total to over two feet. Here’s DH’s car this afternoon.

If I were a really great wife I’d dig it out for him, but I just spent two hours hauling manure out of the barn and dragging it through the deep snow and up the manure pile. Now I’m ready for dry clothes, an apron, baking cookies, and fixing dinner. Tomorrow I’ll get to it.

6 Responses to Blizzard!

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Is there something wrong with David’s arms? He loves the snow let him dig out his own car!

    I hope you have fabulous weather on your vacation with plenty of restful days.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      You are so funny! D. and I both laughed out loud. He says he will listen to his aunt and dig out his own car. However in general I would say there is a difference between “wild snow” (to be skied on) and “domestic snow” (to be coped with, shoveled, etc.) I am usually in charge of the domestic variety! 🙂 DH is busy earning the bread and butter.

  2. Pamela says:

    Remember we are just minutes off your route to FL; if you want to stop for a break, a meal or an overnight let me know.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks so much, Pam! We have done this trip so many times now we have it plotted exactly to miss traffic. We leave here at 4 AM and try to get through D.C. around 2 PM, before gridlock. We sleep overnight on the border of North Carolina, then start again at 4 AM. This way (with luck) we miss getting tied up in New York City, Philly, D.C., Jacksonville, and Orlando. However we always give you a shout-out as we cross the Woodrow Wilson bridge and pass the Masonic Temple!

  3. Marsha says:

    Honestly, I don’t know how you do all that you do. I get tired just reading your blog sometimes. Have a great vacation!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Marsha, you are so kind but you flatter me. The secret is that I don’t have a job at the moment so grunt labor IS my job. When I was teaching full-time I did a lot of physical work but it was confined mostly to weekends. I enjoy it, the way others like to go running or hiking. Though I must admit, when it is -15° F, as it is this morning, it becomes somewhat less appealing! LOL

Leave a Reply

