Good Luck, Sweetpea

Our son Jon starts a new job today! After a long interview process he was hired as an entry-level reporter for a newspaper syndicate a half hour away. Who knows if it will be the right “fit” for him, but to land any full-time job in this rural area, much less in journalism, in this bitter economic climate feels like a feat. His father and I are very proud of him.

Jon at 11 months

Last night he stopped by so I could trim his hair. He is so tall that I had to have him sit on a low stool so I could reach his crown. When he was a child I called him “Little Man.” Not any more.

Next month he will be exactly the age I was when I came to the Adirondacks to interview for my first full-time job.

Where did the years go?

4 Responses to Good Luck, Sweetpea

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Congratulations Jon! Uncle Ed says “short and brief”.

    Pulitzer in the future???

  2. Jody HB says:

    Jon, We are so excited to hear your news!! Congratulations – send us links to your articles. Lots of luck, Love Aunt Jody

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Jody, Elaine, and Ed! Jon is afflicted with a hard-partying neighbor in his apartment building, so he slept here last night, and this morning as he left for work I passed on your messages. A big grin and thanks from him!

  3. Pamela says:

    What fantastic news! Tell Jon I say wootwoot! And please send links to his writing. Love, Aunt Pamela

Leave a Reply

