Done with Mucking!

Yesterday was miserable with sleet driven in front of a stiff wind, but Friday was clear and cold and I was able to finish mucking the sheep stall. It had finally occurred to me to use a pickaxe to loosen the two-foot layers, which sped up the process considerably.

While I pounded and heaved at the steaming pile, the animals lay outside, luxuriating in the weak spring sun. Though it was only 30° F, you could see their contentment as they soaked up the rays.

Old man Birch rolled in the dirt first, for the mud-mask-at-the-spa effect.

Ahhhh…

Moxie and Duke, my Jersey kids.

Katika, seven months pregnant and enjoying the benefit of a black coat.

Sheep and lambs.

Because it was actually still cold enough to see your breath, snuggling with mama felt good to the babies. It’s hard to believe that in a month the world will have greened up and they’ll all be out at pasture at Betty’s.

I was staggering by the time I finished the stall, but the only real damage done was to my hands. Work gloves don’t fit me; women’s are too short in the fingers and men’s too wide and floppy, so I always tape my hands against blisters. This last day I was tired and in a hurry and I simply wound layers of duct-tape over my skin. When I ripped it off to cook supper, I also ripped off a strip of flesh across the back of my hand. Yikes! A bad ow-ie.

Today I am headed to the airport to pick up DH, and then the two of us drive to Massachusetts for an overnight education conference where I shall wear a dress and heels and attempt to look like the proper wife of a headmaster. I am trying to think of a creditable explanation for a hand that looks like raw meat.

Perhaps I should simply say mysteriously, “Deep bedding.”

3 Responses to Done with Mucking!

  1. Jody HB says:

    Have a great trip! Are you going to be in Boston? Tomorrow is Patriot’s Day – beware of closed streets and crowds as the city is full of Marathon runners and spectators!

  2. Missy says:

    lol! “proper wife of a headmaster”. Would that be anything like trying to look like the “proper wife of a pastor”???

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, Missy, exactly the same! And in my mid-calf Talbots dress ($5 at Goodwill in Florida) I think I looked the part! 🙂

      Jody, I told your brother that it was a good thing we weren’t going to Boston, as you said the streets would be closed for Patriot’s Day.
      “You know,” I told him. “Commemorating the battles of Lexington and Concord.”
      “Actually,” he said, “I’m pretty sure they close the streets for the Boston Marathon.”
      Lots of love from both of us.

Leave a Reply

