Katika Calved!

Katika started labor a bit before 7 AM and calved at 1:15 PM today. I helped pull the calf, mostly because it appeared to me that Katika and I were equally exhausted and we both needed this calving over. It is a sweet little dark chocolate heifer, with a few small white splotches from her Holstein great-grandmother (via her dad, my 7/8 Jersey bull Charles Bronson).

Having been at the barn since 3:30 AM, I went home for a quick late lunch and nap from 5 to 6 PM and then came back to find Katika sunk in a stupor. Obviously the tube (the size of window caulking) of CMPK meds that I’d forced down her throat after calving had not done the trick.

Katika’s head was curled around and tucked over her flank — a very cute picture unless you understand that this presentation screams MILK FEVER which without treatment leads inexorably to coma and death. Seeing me, Katika gave a little moo and tried to stagger to her feet, only to sway and crash to the ground. A twelve-hundred pound cow makes quite a crash.

Lots of running around with IV needles.

I think Katika is stable now. More tomorrow. I am very tired and after this extremely long week of checks around the clock, the lure of a bath, clean pajamas, and cool sheets is too enticing.

6 Responses to Katika Calved!

  1. Congratulations! I hope you’ll be able to sleep a TAD better!

  2. Missy says:

    Oh, audible gasp of relief when I read today’s title in my RSS feed! Can’t wait to see some piccys of the little one, she sounds so cute (hope you find your camera) and to hear that Katika is stable. Have a wonderful, well deserved rest!

  3. Noodles says:

    All your blog followers are relieved, Sugar Lump! Now get some sleep.
    Love,
    N.

  4. Claire says:

    Congrats on the calf (and a heifer!!!). I hope Katika is over the milk fever hump by now and you’ve gotten some rest.

  5. Rae says:

    Poor girl. Hope she’s doing better!

  6. Tricia says:

    Happy happy happy dance here!!!! Hope Katika is responding to treatment and things are smoothing out.

Leave a Reply

