End of Brush Hogging

The kind folks at the rental store let me have the walk-behind brush hog this weekend for free as I’d spent last weekend’s rental hours in the emergency room and then recovering with my leg bandaged.

I ran the machine for six hours each day, between morning and evening stints at barn chores, keeping my eyes peeled for deadly rocks — and, at my friend Bonnie’s suggestion, wearing shin guards borrowed from the school soccer team.

The work was uneventful. Just loud, dull, long, and tiring.

I have to return the brush hog this morning, and though I have only finished clearing about seven of the eight back acres, I’m not entirely sorry to see it go. The mental pressure of not wasting the rental has acted like a goad, whipping me through the hours. I barely let myself break for a drink of water, sitting on the tailgate of the truck.

The last acre, and various fencelines and un-mowable spots on the farm, I’ll clear in the coming weeks with a weedwhacker in short bursts between all the other pressing jobs that have to be completed before snow.

Fall is rushing down upon us. The temperature yesterday morning was 34° F.

4 Responses to End of Brush Hogging

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Amen to the brush hogging!

    Cadbury is beautiful. He’s looks very noble and haughty….he definitely will have a fan club….

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      He does look noble and haughty — just like Mr. Darcy in PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, staring around moodily at lesser mortals! 🙂 However his real personality at this time seems far more like Bingley… mild and cheerful. He SHOULD be cheerful among all those girls. 🙂

  2. Viki says:

    I’m just catching up on your posts- I hope your leg is ok now! Shin guards are a great idea. The newest member of your family is beautiful- I happen to love milk chocolate!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      My leg is healing up nicely, thank you. As our favorite school nurse says, “No longer weeping yellow snot!” 🙂 I think the bone bruise may be sore for a while but I’m walking on it fine. It just adds to the usual aches and pains of my aging carcass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

