Grease Monkey

I may not look different to you today. But I am. I am now the proud owner of a grease gun!

Yes, I bought the gun, the grease, and I have now loaded grease into all the grease fittings on my manure spreader. I am very cheerful. There is something about oily black grease smeared on your hands that makes a girl feel powerful.

It turns out that grease comes in many colors. Black, blue, pink, green.

“What’s the difference?” I asked.

“Brand, mostly. Then weight. What color do you like?” A tube was placed on the counter. “This is what most of the guys around here buy.”

Of course I bought it. With any luck, regular applications of grease will protect my spreader from more trashed gears, like this one.

I don’t think I’ll ever have much mechanical intelligence, but it is thrilling to me to begin to learn some of the small mysteries beyond refilling my oil, antifreeze, and washer fluid.

I am someone who has always lived in her head (a cluttered and highly idiosyncratic apartment). For me, learning more about my physical world — how things work, whether it’s an engine or the life cycle of a salamander — is simultaneously exciting and deeply reassuring.

Other women entertain themselves strolling around city art galleries. I find I get a happy charge walking into my NAPA store.

Girl mechanics, 1925. Check out the shoes!
4 Responses to Grease Monkey

  1. tricia park says:

    Congratulations!!! You are now one of the few who know what a grease gun is much less how to load one and USE it! DH is a Bobcat mechanic and they have actually hired guys who cannot load a grease gun- gee how hard is it the put the tube in one right? Needless to say those hired don’t last long. Last one couldn’t tell the difference between metric and standard sockets.

    When I was overseas we had to hand pack one- no cartridges was often the issue- supply loads late ect…. Picture 55 gallon barrel of grease and a putty knife.. can get a tad messy.
    I didn’t know there was pink grease? really? Interesting. I’ll have to ask DH about the pink stuff. The things I learn from you!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Tricia, you are far more competent than I am. I can’t imagine hand-packing grease guns. Well, I can imagine it, but I can also picture my clothes at the end. Yech! 🙂

      I am sure any man (and any label) would say it is RED grease but to me some of the grease I’ve seen on excavator fittings looks more like fuschia/pink!

  2. tricia park says:

    I asked why we didn’t have pink grease. Who did you talk to about pink grease. I said. Selden. He smiles. He said we don’t do pink grease…..

    Packing grease guns is so icky. We wore black rubber aprons and rubber gloves- I should say the smart one did!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I dug out one of the grease containers from the trash. It’s Valvoline CRIMSON (they’ve trademarked the color name!) I still say it looks pink. 🙂

      I had to laugh about the smart ones. I am one of those who usually figures out how I could protect my clothes after I’ve trashed them. 😉

Leave a Reply

