Another Garage Apartment Update

Here’s the garage apartment, from the outside, back in late August. Notice it’s still unfinished? I haven’t had the cash or the time to address having the siding put on. Now I’ve got a small chunk saved and am interviewing carpenters to gather bids.

The first to come in almost made me pass out. Not including materials, just labor, the bid was twice what I had expected. Holy cow, Batman! This is far beyond my pocketbook. I hope the other four bids will be significantly lower. If not, I am wondering if I could learn to put up the clapboards myself.

Meanwhile Lucy and I have been slowly tackling the inside. My hope is to have the apartment ready to go on the market as a ski rental this winter. We have furnished it almost entirely with second-hand items from Craigslist and Freecycle. Nothing is elegant but it is functional and sturdy. (Lucy was particularly happy when we scored the second-hand L.L. Bean braided rugs.) Every six weeks when we are in the big city we buy a few more linens or kitchen supplies from Costco, Walmart, or Overstock.com. Slowly the apartment is taking shape.

The kitchen/dining/living room (ignore the trash can!).

We still need pots and pans, a toaster, coffee maker, microwave, telephone, and television. The irony is that it is likely that the apartment’s television will be more up-to-date than our elderly Sony at home.

The bedroom (still searching for bedside tables and a chest of drawers).

The bathroom. I need to hang a shower curtain rod, towel racks, and a toilet paper holder.  Then, of course, buy a shower curtain, towels, etc.

Looking out of the bedroom, across the living room/dining room toward the future deck. It’s not clear to me if I can get a Certificate of Occupancy before the deck is built. This will be crucial.

There is still cosmetic finish work to be done inside: some staining, some missing trim to be installed, closet doors to be taken down and re-hung. The concrete entry floor needs patching and painting. Above the shower must be tiled. I have to figure out a banister, and then sand and varnish the staircase. Some of this I have no idea how to do, but I’m sure I’ll learn. “There must be a book about it” is my motto.

It is all waiting for me, the minute winter shuts down all the projects outside on the land.

8 Responses to Another Garage Apartment Update

  1. Jessika says:

    I love it Selden! We are interested in doing something similar only we want to live in the apartment in the summer and rent out our huge log cabin in the summer to tourists.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      A lot of people do that here, too, Jessika. My hope is that I can cover my high taxes with the apartment and hopefully a bit more.

  2. Spirited Rose Dairy says:

    Thanks for posting the pictures! We hope to have our home built in the next few years and I am always looking for ideas!
    Lucky you!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi Michelle! I’m crossing my fingers that I can start our house next spring, and that the apartment income will ease some of my costs.

  3. Elaine Murphy says:

    The apartment looks terrific! Could you rent it year round? Check out “This Old House” online they give great how to’s.for the novice.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks, Elaine. I think we might be able to rent it year round but living in a tourist town, my sense is that I might be able to make as much or more with weekly rentals at specific seasons. I’m not sure how much I’ll enjoy being a landlord of any sort, so it’s an experiment… just one of the reasons I’m furnishing it inexpensively. (The main reason of course being no spare cash!) 🙂

  4. Mac West says:

    The interior looks great Sel, though a bit naked from the outside!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks, Mappy. I am waiting for my third and fourth bid to come in and then will make a decision on a carpenter. My prayer is to get the siding finished before Christmas.

Leave a Reply

