Results Are In

Here at DH’s work Thanksgiving is always a hectic, pressured, breathless time, this year complicated by a surprise dump of six inches of heavy wet snow yesterday just as the three hundred guests were arriving in town. However despite all the flurry and stress DH and Lucy have managed to fit in quick before-breakfast and before-bedtime tours on cross country skis, so they are very cheerful.

As am I. Like everyone, I have plenty of anxieties dogging me in real life, but last night I received an email notification from the lab in Idaho that felt like a shot of pure happiness.

Both Katika and Moxie are pregnant! Hooray! If all goes well, Katika should calve in early July, Moxie in late July. I am thrilled.

Happy, happy Thanksgiving to all.

6 Responses to Results Are In

  1. Claire says:

    Woohooo!!!! What a relief that must be! You’ll be overflowing with milk and calves by late summer.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, such a relief, Claire — particularly in Moxie’s case. I rescued her impulsively and I really didn’t want to have to face making hard decisions about her if she couldn’t be bred.

  2. Missy says:

    Yay yay hurray! I still have to jump the hurdle of getting Midnight bred again. It was easy last year with a bull over the fence as he alerted me to the right timing, but this year he’s somewhere else and the right time to have her AI’ed completely alludes me.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Katika’s heats are invisible so though A.I. would be much easier in many respects, I’m glad to be able to raise a bull who can always tell the timing. Before I did this I took her to a farm and left her for six weeks. Is that a possibility for you?

  3. Amy says:

    Woohoo! We have another bull in with both our cows right now. Sheila missed her second heat in a row, but with Roxy open, too, she got a reprieve. (Roxy was bred at the seller’s place, but we think she slipped her calf.) We’re going to finally try Biotracking rather than paying the vet to do a preg check for a third time in a year.

  4. Jessika says:

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

