A Chuckle in Passing

I have been on the road for much of the past week, leaving little time or energy for writing. When Mary on the Clun Forest sheep list forwarded this cartoon, I had to share it here.  [Click to enlarge.]

It seems apropos as yesterday I drove up near Potsdam to pick up my beef and pork. The entire truck bed was loaded halfway up the stake rack with almost 2000 pounds of meat. I then spent most of the day making deliveries of big boxes of frozen chops and roasts, steaks, ground beef, hams, bacon, and sausage. Tomorrow on my way to Plattsburgh I am meeting someone at the side of the road to sell a box of lamb. By the end of the weekend I will have sold almost all of my meat for the year, leaving only two freezer lambs still to go. It feels good to have that done and have the checks and cash trickling in.

This year I am also much closer to breaking even while feeding my family — and that feels even better!

2 Responses to A Chuckle in Passing

  1. Tricia says:

    Awesome sales job!!!!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, I’m very pleased, but my dear friend Larry deserves most of the credit. He knows everyone in town and is always pitching for me. I am very lucky!

Leave a Reply

