Siding Progress

The temperature rose into the low 20s yesterday, with snow flurries, and the men are back at work siding the garage between squalls. I can’t overstate how exciting it is to see progress again.

8 Responses to Siding Progress

  1. Ellen says:

    Selden, how did you estimate your costs for all the finishing? Is there a general cost estimate such as twice the amount of the kit to finish? I wouldn’t even know what subcontractors I would need to finish it. Do the instructions from Shelter Kit come with this information?

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Ellen, I think you could estimate that the finish work cost twice the cost of putting up the kit. No, the instructions do not come with this information because it’s all up to you. Do you want electricity? plumbing? sheetrock? insulation? kitchen cabinets? appliances? garage doors? finished floors? all of these are decisions you make and jobs you do yourself or subcontract out.

  2. Ellen says:

    And do you have pictures on your blog somewhere of the barn as you built it? I tried to search but couldn’t find anything. What size was the barn?

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      The barn is 24×32. I haven’t put up my many photos of building it with my son and his friend in the summer of 2006, and then some friends helping with roofing that fall, and then Dean finishing the siding with me in the summer of 2008. I always mean to go back and document the past, but so much is happening right now that I don’t have energy to write about, I find it’s tough to catch up on the history!

  3. Noodles says:

    Beautiful! Looks like Driftway Lane to me…xoxo

  4. Tricia says:

    This is so wonderful!!!! So nice to see it all finished off and YOU NOT ON A LADDER!!!!!
    Satisfaction is a great thing isn’t it!!!!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks so much, Tricia. Now that I see the men doing it, I realize I could have done the siding. It’s not rocket science. But it is my nature to be afraid of new things unless I have someone to show me. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

