Found My Cookstove!

Yesterday while in Burlington with my children for appointments, we stopped to see an antique kitchen cookstove I’d found on Craigslist. It is a Glenwood 508E, a stove model manufactured between 1880 and 1930. I’ll have to get to know it better before I can guess more closely at its date. Last night I made arrangements to buy it.

In many respects I have no business buying a cookstove at this time. Not only is money very tight, but I haven’t yet built the kitchen to put it in!

However the stove is just what I was looking for, and the price was reasonable. The stove has not been restored but has been in use for most of the last forty years. It is currently stored in a dry basement and has little rust. If it had been professionally restored it would have cost me two to three times as much.

Moreover I’d just learned that a cracked crown on one of my back molars has to be replaced. It seemed significant to me that the 600-pound stove would cost me much less than a tiny piece of metal and porcelain. Surely a cookstove would bring me much more lasting satisfaction and joy.

Fetching the stove home will require some creative planning to line up the required muscles on both ends of the trip. But somehow it brings the prospect of a home of our own a little closer.

Almost like buying a fancy front door — now I have to build the house!

5 Responses to Found My Cookstove!

  1. Kimberly says:

    Beautiful, Selden!…and you know how I feel about cookstoves. If you decide you need any repairs to it or re-chroming, Bryant Stoveworks in Thorndike, Maine does a great job. Congrats!

  2. Elaine Murphy says:

    Congratulations on your stove! We have my aunt’s Glenwood stove that she bought when she married in the 1930’s. It cost $500 in those days, a small fortune. It’s beige with chrome, the cadillac model of stoves it has a side burner for extra cooking space. I remember her heating her hot water on the stove in large kettles. I don’t use it, nowhere to put it. Someday i may use it as a conversation piece. At one point she had bottled kerosene to run it. She used it until she went in the nursing home. It’s part of my ancestry. My paternal grandmother had 10 children, she would make toast on the top of her black Glenwood. Dad said it was delicious!

  3. Pull the tooth and keep the stove. It’s a beauty! (Just kidding, of course about the tooth.) I looked for one for about ten years and did not find any that looked as good as that one. Good luck with it…and the kitchen to put it in.

  4. vtgrandview says:

    Ahh a much better buy than a crown. There is nothing as cozy as a cookstove baking bread on a cold winter day.

  5. margo says:

    This is not a cookstove.
    This is a piece of Art…seriously!
    I can’t believe they were putting such effort esthetically, i mean, to make simply home appliances!
    Congrats, Selden!

Leave a Reply

