How Much Wood…?

… would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

D has a 5-foot-high, 20-foot-wide pile of firewood drying down by my barn, waiting for him to have time to split it (he has no room for this operation at his house). For the last month I have frequently seen a woodchuck scurrying awkwardly across the driveway between Allen’s peninsula rock wall and D’s wood pile. The woodchuck has obviously found passageways through the piled logs; whenever I meander over for a closer look at him, he vanishes.

It isn’t clear to me if this is the same woodchuck that has a den up the hill beyond the garage, or a down-driveway relative. I don’t notice a lot of identifying marks. I mostly see a brown and black lump gallumphing at top speed or freezing in hopes that I can’t spot him.

Leave a Reply

