Getting Ready for Sandy

L to R: Opie, Birch, Henry, Dorrie, Katika, Fee, Stewart, and Moxie

I spent the weekend preparing for the hurricane, getting in a hay delivery, filling water troughs, collecting and battening down loose items in the barnyard. I don’t expect major flooding issues here on the farm but am bracing for winds. My biggest concern is keeping all the animals safe, of course, and within fencing if the power goes out.

My problem is that I currently have too many animals to fit comfortably in the barn in a storm. I have two cows, a bull, a yearling heifer, three calves, a horse, seven chickens, two geese, sixteen sheep, and a cat.

In the photo above, I am feeding the large livestock hay on the stony crest of the cabin knoll paddock, to fertilize it. [Doubleclick to enlarge.]

I have sold six sheep, taken nine lambs and five pigs to the butcher, and made arrangements for ten more animals to leave in the next ten days. But that doesn’t help me now. So I am trying to be creative. The horse and cattle, poultry, and cat all fit in the barn. The sheep are now in the barn paddock, which I can power with a battery charger if I have to — but which I am not 100% confident is coyote-proof. I may use cattle panels to pen them at night under the run-in shed. If worst comes to worst, I will bring them into the barn aisle and lock the doors.

Like everyone else on the East coast, I’ll be glad when this storm is over.

3 Responses to Getting Ready for Sandy

  1. Jody says:

    Happy Birthday to Lucy! Hope she has a wonderful day! No power here but I am at work and so have Internet-yeah!! Hope the storm wasn’t too bad up your way.

  2. Kirby says:

    Just know I am thinking of you and everyone on the East coast. I hope you are all safe.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Kirby. We are all fine. Thankfully the storm was a passing event here, and if we hadn’t had all the warnings from the media we would probably noticed nothing out of the ordinary. Since our local communities are still reeling from Irene last year, this was a great blessing.

Leave a Reply

