Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. The year past has been a tough one for my family. Nevertheless I remind myself of my many, many blessings.

Every afternoon at dusk for the past week a doe has been visiting my back acres. Even as I took these photographs I could hire rifle shots cracking in the state forest on either side of the farm. However my friend D has filled his larder with venison and there will be no more hunting on my land this season. She is safe for the moment.

I know deer are a pest in many places, but not here. I am happy to see this doe feeding in my pasture — that three years ago was a tangle of broken balsam trees; two years ago a war zone of mud, boulders, and stumps; and one year ago a blanket of unpalatable winter rye between cherry saplings, weeds, and rocks. This summer I spent days mowing, weedwhacking, mulching, and picking up stones. My sheep spread fertilizer. I sowed timothy seed.

“It will be better next year,” I promise the doe in my mind.

In the meantime I give thanks that despite some hard losses, we have come through.

2 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Missy says:

    Happy thanksgiving to you! I think thanksgiving sounds like a lovely holiday, of course we don’t celebrate it here in Australia. Glad you could see the goodness in the year past. God is very kind.

  2. Ellen Pitts says:

    I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

