Stop All the Clocks

SKMBT_C55213012510590_2

My dear friend Julia died of cancer yesterday at only 54. I was going to drive the six hours to Connecticut to see her today. The past two weeks have been a relentless race against time while our car has been marooned in the shop and I’ve battled the cold and frozen pipes. My heart is so heavy.

I find I have few pictures to document almost three decades of friendship. Above we are on the church steps at Jon’s christening in 1988; she was his godmother. At the time we shared an equal devotion to Laura Ashley. As someone cracked of this photo, “You look like Sister Wives!”

How Julia would have loved that.

I will write more when I can find words.

5 Responses to Stop All the Clocks

  1. Amy says:

    Selden, I’m so very sorry for the loss of your dear friend. Peace to you…

  2. Elaine Murphy says:

    I am so sorry Selden….she was much too young. May your wonderful memories of Julia bring you some peace and solace.

  3. onecowco says:

    I know its not fair….and I’m so sorry. ((HUGS))

  4. Melanie in California says:

    A long time lurker reaching across the ether to offer a hug. So very sorry for your loss; I have been there myself and the only comfort is happy memories.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you to all for your kind condolences. Julia was smart, commanding, brave, funny, and never complaining. In her last text to me, the day before she went into hospice for her lightning decline, she wanted to “look at her schedule” before I planned my trip down to see her — she was still thinking of her responsibilities to everyone else. She had been working full-time as a nurse in December. She was an inspiration to me and to so many others.

Leave a Reply

