God’s Little Chuckle

Two of my ewes lambed this morning. I know God must have been smiling at my feeble attempt to control outcomes: the two ewes who lambed were neither of the two ewes I’d carefully put in jugs.

Moreover, both were maiden ewes who had never lambed before and each gave birth in the melée of the big stall. However, they were champions and after some flurry on my part to sort and rearrange the ewes and the new families, all is well.

Here is Magnolia with her twins, one a ewe lamb, 6 lbs 9 oz, and one a ram, 5 lbs 7 oz.

IMG_2591

I’m not sure why the lambs are so small, as Magnolia seems quite healthy. However, tiny as they are, the lambs were on their feet nursing very quickly. Magnolia is a perfect mother.

My ewe Georgie, not quite a year old, gave birth to a singleton, a pretty and vigorous ewe lamb, 7 lbs 12 oz.  At this age, an extra pound or two makes a tremendous difference. This little girl looks as if she could bench press the babies in the next jug.

IMG_2590

Meanwhile it truly seems impossible for Blackberry, at age seven my flock’s grande dame, to go much longer or grow much bigger. I look at her udder swollen to shininess and think, Ouch!

IMG_2605

Three pregnant ewes down, five to go. I am running around madly with lists, packing and organizing. The girls and I start our drive to Florida tomorrow at noon.

I know it’s a lot to ask, but I’m praying for one or even two more safe deliveries before I get behind the wheel.

4 Responses to God’s Little Chuckle

  1. Missy says:

    Well, that’s happy news to go to bed to tonight. I do hope you get a few more lambs tonight. It’s certainly not beyond God’s power to do this! Hope you have a great summery holiday in the middle of winter. Hope we get some sun here too … we have had 2 floods this month and desperately need the ground to dry out. I don’t think I can stand to slop through any more cow-created half-a-foot deep mud without losing it!
    Happy holidays!

  2. Michele says:

    I found your blog yesterday while I was trying to look up mastitis in sheep. I have really enjoyed reading it. What ever happened to Lily… The ewe that had mastitis last year? Did you end up selling her? We have two ewes and we discovered our maiden ewe had mastitis when her lamb was born on Easter Sunday. We are currently are bottle feeding the lamb but I have hopes of putting her back to the ewe eventually.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi Michele. I’m sorry I’ve been away from the blog so long. I still have my ewe with mastitis but she only has half a functioning bag. The key with mastitis (until it’s too late, as it was with my ewe) is to keep milk moving through the udder. It is when it sits that it breeds more infection. So if you haven’t already, be sure to put the lamb back to its mother… unless both sides of the udder have no milk. Good luck!

      • Michele says:

        Hi, the lamb is back with her mother. It took three days of milking 3xs a day, a shot of the LA 200(?) and oxytocin but it cleared up. Luckily she was a single because I don’t think the ewe would have enough for two. Everyone is telling me to get rid of her but I think I’ll give her another chance.

Leave a Reply

