The Blessing of Rain

IMG_3087

Some people are complaining about the dark days of rain. Not me. I used to, but after the stomach-turning panic of last summer’s drought, when the pastures baked to a dusty brown and stopped growing, I feel as if I will never complain about rain again.

Last summer my sheep were bleating with hunger. Here are my ewe Geranium (foreground) and her two lambs, and my yearling ewe, Cranberry, grazing a week ago. They are too busy tearing the lush grass at Betty’s field to even look up, much less bleat at me. Their sides are beginning to round out.

IMG_3029

Allen’s pond is full this morning, for the first time in a year and a half.

IMG_3093

I am so grateful and relieved, at a deep, deep level. Thank you, God.

Leave a Reply

