More Comfort

IMG_3340

Yesterday, feeling tired, discouraged, and overwhelmed (too much going on right now, too busy and torn in different directions), I pulled into the farm and from the top of the driveway saw the above. It’s my friend Allen mowing the back acres.

Instant tonic.

Maybe someday this rocky, sour piece of land will be a real farm.

As Allen says, “We’re gainin’ on ‘er.”

7 Responses to More Comfort

  1. Amy says:

    Selden, it already is!!!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Amy. It looks that way in photos, I think, but up close it’s held together with paper clips… and often frantic toil. 🙂

  2. Jack says:

    My favorite quote came from a very old man , who had been raised and lived during the dust bowl years . So Ill quote it here for you. He said to all-ways make the best use you can of whatever you have at hand . Ive always tried to live that way anyway but his words made so much sense to me . That leads me to the observation of you cutting that grass and weeds and letting it go to waste . Would it not be better to graze it first then maybe cut what ever was not eaten . That way you could kill 2 birds with one stone .I hope that my words do not offend you , and Ill not bother you any more .

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi Jack! Thanks for your comment. I am not offended! I’m always looking for suggestions for better ways to do things.

      In fact, usually I do exactly as you say, graze everything and then cut the remains. However in this case, the field was getting very tall and I know it will be a least a month, if not a year, before I can get it fenced safely enough to have the herd (including a bull) on it. Also, though it looks like green grass from far away, up close you can see it is actually mostly nut sedge, bracken fern, poplar, etc. Unpalatable weeds.

      My hope is to have half the field fenced in another month if I can eke out the $ for the electric tape and find the time to pound posts between everything else I have going on. The tractor only cuts the vegetation down to 6″-10″ (the brush hog has to be set high to clear rocks). By then the field will be pretty high again. For now Allen has stopped the woody overgrowth and laid down a layer of mulch on the acid soil. I will also soon be spreading manure on the acres that I know I won’t be able to fence this summer. The difference between the half of the field that has received manure spreading in the past, and the half that has not, is stark.

  3. Jack says:

    Sorry if I seamed to be critical , but my main point was the wisdom of the old mans words .

  4. Alan says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading about your trials and tribulations. I must say I could use a good partner as capable as you. I also admire your determination. I’ve bookmarked this page and hope to keep up with your progress.

Leave a Reply

