Forgetful

I am famous in my family for my absentmindedness. “Have we said grace?” I will inquire, moments after we finish saying grace before dinner. My kids know that if they want me to remember to accomplish any promised task, they have to write me a note. I will make a comment during a movie and will be informed I said exactly the same thing the last time we watched it (I won’t even recall having seen the film before). For any details of my childhood, I count on my sisters to remember.

I’ve learned to live with this weakness, and aside from having some concern how I will function as age makes its inroads, I generally shrug it off. But last night I was slightly taken aback.

I am rereading a terrific book of history that decades ago won the Pulitzer Prize. As is my habit, I looked it up on Amazon to find other readers’ opinions. (I love sharing books and films this way.)

All the reviews were full of praise — “Wonderful!” “Masterly,” “History comes alive!” “Awesome,” “A masterpiece” — except one, which was sneering and dismissive. What?!

To that review, there was one in response. It was cool, civil, and in a few short sentences demolished the sneerer’s argument.

Gosh, I agree with that, I thought to myself.

I went to click on the voting buttons to register my approval, only to find:

Why no voting buttons? We don’t let customers vote on their own reviews.

I myself had written the response in 2007.

3 Responses to Forgetful

  1. Jane Wellker says:

    That is hysterical. It’s so nice to be your back up memory bank. 🙂

  2. Peggy says:

    I’m new to your blog but have enjoyed reading your posts. We have many similarities including our lack of memory. I read that first part about forgetting grace to my oldest and she burst out laughing it was so me!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you for sharing. Even now, my absent-mindedness is sometimes astonishing to my family, no matter how often they see it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

