A Good Day

IMG_3526

A good day yesterday in the breezy sunshine. Between morning and evening chores I spent seven hours mowing at Betty’s and the farm; I loaded and dumped the manure spreader, I rode the four-wheeler to pick up rocks, I weedwhacked around boulders — and I didn’t break anything. This alone made it a red-letter day.

My north pasture is grazed off and I needed to clip the remnant weeds before I start to dress the field with the twenty tons of last summer’s manure pile. Since my tractor and brush-hog can’t cut low enough between the ledges, I was using my lawn mower.

Somehow the long hours alone on the mower, listening to hymns under my new improved ear-protectors, and watching the crickets and grasshoppers jump out of my way and the bumblebees climbing the clover and the dragonflies zig-zagging in mid-air, laid a quieting hand on my mind. Normally I am so anxiously aware of the long list of chores covering the refrigerator and the undone tasks reproaching me from every corner of the farm that I can hardly see what I’ve already accomplished.

But yesterday as the sweet fresh-cut grass and weeds fell in tidy windrows, I was remembering the years of battling saplings and briars and rocks in this field. It’s come a long way. When I drove the mower out of the pasture to refill the gas, I looked up at the garage apartment. It too represents a lengthy to-do list. Nevertheless I found myself thinking, It’s pretty nice.

I’ve been pleased by the little perennial garden I threw into the ground just before freeze-up last fall. Though (of course) it is overdue for weeding, its small splash of color heartens me every time I walk by — a tiny pocket of domestication on my 22 shaggy acres.

garden1

It was a sweet feeling, to shed the demanding taskmaster in my mind for a few hours and appreciate how far the farm has come.

4 Responses to A Good Day

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Selden you are doing an awesome job…the apartment reminds me of the Shaker houses at the Canterbury museum north of concord, serene and peaceful. How you accomplish so much boggles my mind!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you so much, Elaine. My goal is someday to have an old-fashioned-looking white Edwardian farm house. I think the wrap-around front porch will be the clincher. 🙂

  2. Jenna says:

    Wow!!! It looks so pretty!!! I love the garden with rock border.

Leave a Reply

