Chips!

IMG_3797

With the clock change, my time to work outdoors on the farm is even shorter. Last night after work my friend D kindly brought me two truckloads of wood chips. The chips were free. I just paid for his gas.

Half a load (above) will mulch the 50 lilac whips I planted in the spring.

The rest will line the inside of the run-in shelter in the barn paddock. My friend Allen and I bedded the shelter in chips four years ago when we built it, and those first chips have all rotted away.

IMG_3798

My hope is that the weather will cooperate and Allen can come out this weekend and, with my tractor, back-drag the old manure and duff out of the shelter and replace it with fresh chips. I plan to scatter the rotted material on the fields with my manure spreader.

D rumbled out of the barn paddock just as the sun went down over the treeline.

IMG_3799

Within moments darkness fell.

These friends are so kind to me. I pray that in the few hours at my disposal I can get all these projects finished before winter.

Leave a Reply

