White Night

Couldn’t sleep last night. DH is in Boston for work and I eventually sat up, turned the light back on, and read about the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire of 1911. (This is what history teachers do for relaxation.)

I finally dozed fitfully from midnight to 4 AM.

My mental list is too long. Though my hours actually spent teaching are part-time (25 hours per week), the paperwork and preparation are full-time and I’m facing a log-jam of reports, advisor letters, test corrections, required curriculum maps, and other written work that must be finished in the next week. At home, a leaning stack of bills and insurance forms clamor for my attention; I have to pull together family Christmas lists. At the farm my projects languish again for lack of time.

I have not nailed up a single board on the barn addition since last weekend. Merely setting up all the tools and firing up the compressor would require half of my one hour before dark. I have also realized I need to dig in another 4×4 treated post for my interior doorway. I bought the 4×4. Maybe I can get to the pick-axe this afternoon before the temperature plunges again.

Or maybe I’ll be too tired.

2 Responses to White Night

  1. Michele says:

    That is quite the log jam… I was surprised to see so many women standing on what had to have been a dangerous situation. Very interesting.
    Lol, The shirtwaist factory fire is not what I would consider relaxing reading. I knew about it from text books of course, but then I watched a PBS special on it that made it a lot more personal. Gave me the chills to think about it. Hard to imagine the horror it must have been.
    Seems like the weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas are always super busy for us as well. Between the kids school projects, work, the farm and family obligations we are always on the run and time passes way too fast. We manage to make it through by trusting in God to help us get done what we are supposed to get done.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks, Michele. I too try to remind myself every day to thank God for the blessings I have and shrug off the rest. It is easier for me to do with a little more rest. Last night I fell asleep at 6:30 PM! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

