Merry Christmas!

IMG_1346

You’re never too old for new jammies on Christmas morning…

IMG_1353

… or a card game on the living room floor while the turkey is roasting and Mom is mashing the sweet potatoes and baking a pecan pie.

luamandaselOn Christmas Eve, Lucy, Amanda, and I had attended the wonderful carol service at our church down in the valley. In my usual pellmell rush, after kicking off my barn boots and straining the milk, I’d had five minutes to wash my hair and jump into a velvet dress. DH took this photo of us before we ran out the door.

Moments after the picture was taken, Lucy said kindly, “Mom, that is an Easter scarf,” disappeared into her room, and brought out a lovely cashmere and silk scarf she’d been given by a school friend. The girls arranged it around my neck. I am clueless about clothes and it felt wonderful to have two cheerful assistants on the job making sure I am presentable.

2014 has been a tough year. At the end of the service, I held my flickering candle in the dark church with two hundred others as we sang Silent Night. “All is calm, all is bright,” I sang, and reminded myself of my many blessings.

Merry Christmas to all!

 

One Response to Merry Christmas!

  1. Newly says:

    Merry Christmas, Hochschartners! Love from New Jersey.

Leave a Reply

