Not Ready

last night's 100% whole wheat sour milk bread and pecan pie

last night’s 100% whole wheat sour milk bread and pecan pie

I had faculty meetings yesterday. The boarding students return to school today. I pick up my regular teaching schedule of five hours/four classes a day tomorrow. I am not ready.

My farm work goals for the holiday were probably unrealistic, given that Mom is the Sherpa of everyone else’s Christmas experience. However it is frustrating not to have accomplished any of them. Still, I remind myself that I have made mental gains. I have more clarity about the future. Considering how stuck I have been, that’s real progress.

Today, between taking down the Christmas tree, boxing up the big Nativity, cooking, folding laundry, and organizing for classes, I am going to try to fit in four hours to muck the last six feet of the deep bedding from the 32′ barn addition. It is due to pour rain on top of last night’s snow, and the work will be wet, slippery, cold, and sloppy. I don’t care. I am craving the satisfaction of crossing “muck sheep stall” off the list.

As I type out this happy plan for my last day of vacation, it occurs to me that it is not really all that strange that I’ve never found anyone who shares my interests.

4 Responses to Not Ready

  1. I literally laughed out loud when I read the last two paragraphs of your blog!!! My husband is constantly reminding me that he is not and does not want to be a farmer. All my friends are wanna be or new homesteaders though, so he gets all the perks: fresh eggs, pork, raw milk, healthy family, etc. Here’s to odd to-do lists!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Given my age and mountain location I don’t have a lot of peers who share my interests. It’s been exciting to see a boomlet in small farm start-ups in the valley 40 minutes away…however most of those farmers are the age of my son. So I think I will remain an oddity. 🙂

  2. Newly says:

    That pecan pie brings back a lot of happy memories. Do you remember packages of pecans from Faunsdale arriving each year?

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, I remember those brown-paper packages. 🙂 Pecan pies are a big hit around here, and as I buy pie shells, they are extremely easy. I always make them at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

