Burn, Burn, Burn

Long day yesterday. My muscles were trembling by the time I stumbled home from chores to cook dinner. I fell asleep in my chair after eating. However:

muck sheep stall

worm sheep

That’s satisfying.

At my request, Lucy had lent me her iPod to help pass the time. Hers is one step up from my missing $49 Shuffle and she started to show me how to operate the buttons. I waved the instruction aside.

“I’m sure it’s fine,” I said heartily. “I don’t really care what I listen to.”

I started the music with the first swing of my pick-axe. Unfortunately, somehow I seemed to have pressed a button which kept a song on a repeat playback loop for the next four hours. No matter what I did, I could not advance the selection to anything else.

We’re gonna let it burn burn burn burn (burn burn)
Burn burn burn burn (burn burn)

We can light it up, up, up
So they can’t put it out, out, out
We can light it up, up, up
So they can’t put it out, out, out
We can light it up, up, up
So they can’t put it out, out, out
We can light it up, up, up
So they can’t put it out, out, out

When the light started out they don’t know what they heard
Strike the match, play it loud, giving love to the world
We’ll be raising our hands, shining up to the sky
‘Cause we got the fire, fire, fire
Yeah we got the fire, fire, fire

And we’re gonna let it burn, burn, burn, burn
We’re gonna let it burn, burn, burn, burn
Gonna let it burn, burn, burn, burn
We’re gonna let it burn, burn, burn, burn

After a few minutes of fruitless struggle, I accepted my fate. As I pushed the heavy wheelbarrow across the ice in the pouring rain, trying not to let the load topple and dump, I devised various alternate lyrics in my mind. I entertained myself by picturing the songwriter chewing her pen and cudgeling her brain to come up with this insightful prose.

It did not seem to me to be as difficult as mucking deep bedding.

However, ten days later, the job is finished. Today it’s back to real life.

4 Responses to Burn, Burn, Burn

  1. Susanna says:

    “this insightful prose.” – I dissolved into giggles in my office at this perspective of the lyrics (particularly as I know the song). xoxo

  2. Missy says:

    Lol. Glad I checked back in on your blog the other day, to be pleasantly surprised to find that you’d returned from far far away… Yes, it’s nice to see you blogging again and sharing your thoughts and experiences!
    Life’s changing here… I’m looking to sell my Midnight cow, who still reminds me of your Katika. Milking and cow care is having to step aside for the next phase of life. I hope someone buys her soon.
    Glad to be reading your adventures again.
    Missy.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi Missy! I’m sorry you are having to sell Midnight… life changes can be wrenching but also freeing. I hope the next phase is a happy one! Warmest regards.

Leave a Reply

