Thank You, God!

IMG_1485

Sunrise splashing the Street and Nye Mountain range behind the cabin, while I was putting out hay this morning at 7:30 AM. My heart did a little dance of thanksgiving. Light and beauty at last!

Of course, given the clear skies, it was -14° F. However in my mind I could hear my mother teasing, “What do you want, an egg in your beer?”

(This was a slang expression from World War II that meant, “Now you want something extra?” As a child in the 60s it was mysterious to me as no one in the family drank beer and putting a raw egg in one sounded revolting, not rewarding. However, I always understood the point.)

Sunshine and thoughts of Mom… a lovely way to start a day, even one so hectic that I had to rush to work without a shower or breakfast, in my barn jeans and turtleneck.

Luckily just last week I taught my 7th graders the word miasma.

miasma

Just another teachable moment. Celebrate the day!

IMG_1486

One Response to Thank You, God!

  1. Newly says:

    Yes! “For the beauty of the earth, for the beauty of the skies, for the love which from our birth over and around us lies…”

Leave a Reply

