Three in a Row!

IMG_1519

This morning marked our third sunny day in a row! This is practically unprecedented here in the High Peaks! We don’t complain about yesterday morning’s -20° F, we are so busy reveling in the sunshine.

I think it may be hard for those who live in different climates to appreciate the wondrous quality of this rare gift of light. It gives such a boost to optimism — the brief escape from feeling as if one is trapped for months on end inside a dark and frozen ragg wool sock.

Indeed, it is due to cloud over this afternoon and snow again. I hope I can carry some of the sunny cheer with me into the weeks ahead.

4 Responses to Three in a Row!

  1. We bear the cloudy dark days here in the PNW, but we don’t have to cope with that cold! I’m glad you got a few sunny days, they are so precious in winter.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, we have a lot of clouds year-round (this is the well-kept secret of the Olympic Village!) but the months of frozen winter dreariness do wear down our spirits. It snowed last night and tonight it will be -25° again. However, it was a wonderful bright three days! 🙂

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    I was just telling my daughter today that I don’t mind winter at all when it’s like this: sunny and low 40’s. I don’t really mind it sunny and really cold, which for us here would be freezing or a little below. What I mind about winter is the gloom and rain that we can get for days on end! Your description of being inside a frozen ragg wool sock is very apt, although ours would be cold, wet ragg wool sock.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I had to smile at the thought of 40° as a winter temp (that’s a fairly common summer temp here). 🙂 But the gloom to the spirit is the same!

Leave a Reply

