Elevator Going Down

IMG_1534

By the time I got to chores, the snow squalls had blown away and the temperature was falling fast. It was 3° but felt colder as I trundled the loaded wheelbarrow back and forth in the wind. The animals were happy to scamper into the barn and have me pull the big doors shut.

Sunrise is now around 7:30 AM and sunset around 4:30 PM. The infinitesimally longer days are cheering.

It may be -20° in the morning but we’re inching our way back to June.

2 Responses to Elevator Going Down

  1. Missy says:

    I love to read your blog and see a little glimpse into a life that is so foreign to mine. It was 38 degrees celcius here today (100 F) and humid. Tonight it’s still hot and sticky and we are enjoying a little respite (albeit a little unnecessary) of having the air con on dehumidify at 10:30pm. We also are looking forward to a change in the seasons, to winter, but then it will just be pleasantly warm through the days (64-82F) and refreshingly cool at night (32-46F). The CSIRO says we have one of the best climates in the world, but I think I would enjoy experiencing a ‘real’ winter one year!
    Happy farming, Missy. 🙂

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Wow! What heat and humidity. I think I would lie down on the floor and cry! I grew up with hot and humid summers but I think my blood has thinned after thirty years in the mountains.

Leave a Reply

