Anxious

allendriving

Always in the driver’s seat. Allen circa 1948, with his sister Gail in his lap

My friend Allen is having heart surgery today. I am anxious. He’s had so many, he says he is not worried. I hear he’s even having his wife bring his little dog to the hospital. (Punkie is also elderly and hasn’t been well.) It’s typical that Allen is more concerned about his dog than about himself.

But I am anxious.

*    *    *

It’s 10° F this morning. After all my ministrations on Sunday, the paddock hydrant thawed overnight and flooded. Yesterday morning it was frozen again. Allen thinks I need a new hydrant, that the entire system should be dug up once more and replaced.

I said eagerly, “Yes, you can dig it out with a backhoe in the spring!”

Allen gave a little tired chuckle. “In the spring, sure.”

5 Responses to Anxious

  1. Sue says:

    I have enjoyed your writings about Allen and can feel the love of two friends. I will keep you both in my thoughts and prayers today as I go about my barn chores.

  2. Missy says:

    Any news of Allen today? Hope all went well. 🙂

  3. adkmilkmaid says:

    Thank you, Sue and Missy. Allen came through fine! In his words, “They stopped my heart and then jumped it.”

    He said a nurse had given him papers to sign before they put him under.

    “This says if you die, I will do everything I possibly can, as fast as I can, to save you,” explained the nurse.

    “I HOPE so!” Allen exclaimed, signing away.

    When they hooked him up to all the electrical cables overhead, he asked, “When y’ throw the switch, do all the lights dim?” 🙂

    He was cheerful on the phone. I am greatly relieved.

  4. Missy says:

    That’s great. Maybe he’ll be back on that backhoe sooner than he expects. 🙂 tell him ‘hi’ from Australia…

Leave a Reply

