Looking for Silver Linings

IMG_1837

The frozen and gloomy days continue. This morning it is -12° F, with gusts up to 25 mph. Windchill of -34° F. I’ll keep the animals in today once more.

todaysweatherThe truck is dead again.

It will be colder tonight.

It’s hard to stay cheerful sometimes but I remind myself that there are always silver linings.

After fifty-odd jump starts this winter, I’ve become a real whiz with jumper cables.

4 Responses to Looking for Silver Linings

  1. At the risk of sounding like a rookie (I’m not, 8 years raising chickens) it is currently 20- in Michigan. It looks like we still have several days in the next week of double digit below zero temperatures. My hens are COLD! Do you do anything for your chickens to get them through these sub zero temperatures? After hearing about several barn fires this winter, I am more than hesitant to use heat lamps.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi. It’s been almost 40 years since I kept chickens without large ruminants in the barn to raise the temperature with their breath. But back when I had fewer cattle, the larger combs and wattles would become frostbitten and turn black. If you are worried about the temps, I would investigate the safety heat lamps sold by Premier1 Supplies. Nothing is fool-proof but those lamps are worth every penny for the added piece of mind. Good luck.

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    So sorry about the weather! I hope spring comes soon!

Leave a Reply

