Now It’s a Crapshoot

From here on out with this year’s lambing, it will be a guessing game as to who is due when.

While I saw most of the rest of the ewes bred in late September and early October, my teaching year was underway, my schedule was hectic, a family crisis consumed my attention, and I stopped marking the dates on my calendar. Arrgh!

I will have to fall back on the old-style method of scrutinizing each ewe’s expression from day to day. This is very far from an exact science. I pray I can keep everyone safe and breathing in this weather.

It was -17° F when I got up at 4 this morning and the wind is buffeting the house. I slept in wool socks last night.

Leave a Reply

