Made It

IMG_1911

frosted cattle breath on the inside of the hayloft window at -23°

 

I survived this tough week of no sleep, tight deadlines, and extreme cold. There was no time to jump-start the frozen truck; every day I took the car and prayed not to get stuck. Hurry, hurry, hurry! Last night when I finished chores at 7 PM I felt as if I had battled through rough seas and finally pulled myself exhausted onto shore.

I’m tired bone-deep, beyond the reach of coffee.

I have a huge amount of work to accomplish this weekend. Mucking the barn thoroughly, mucking the sheep stall’s deep bedding, digging out snowdrifts and setting snow fence, cleaning the neglected apartment, folding a mountain of laundry, paying bills, writing 59 academic reports. However I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and I am cheered.

One more week and the term is over. The weather is due to warm into the 20s. And best of all, tonight DH brings home my baby girl.

2 Responses to Made It

  1. Sue says:

    Just knowing your kid(s) are coming home seems to put everything right. Enjoy!

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    Well, it still sounds pretty tunnel-like to me, but I’m glad you’re encouraged! Your baby girl arriving should do a lot for bone-deep tired!

Leave a Reply

