Complications… Sigh

IMG_2087

I discovered on milking for the first time last night that Dorrie freshened with mastitis in both front quarters. This has never happened to me before.

It took me half an hour to milk three gallons — mostly from the back teats. The front quarters are hard as rocks and very little milk will let down. Her edema was severe last night and worse this morning.

I thought perhaps she was holding up for the calf, but the teats remained flat and empty even when Elsa butted her impatiently.

IMG_2091

To complicate matters further, the ache in her udder is putting Dorrie off her feed. Not eating, she is heading into ketosis. I’m struggling to problem-solve on the fly, administer what meds I have, and drive a couple of hours to the big city to get more.

My hands are full.

*    *   * 

When I turned the boys out yesterday morning I found my black yearling steer, Mike, was limping badly.

IMG_2066

He could hardly touch his left foreleg to the ground.

IMG_2067

Once I verified that nothing was broken, in the midst of my concern I was aware of a slight sense of “serves him right.” Mike had been the leader of the hooligans crashing into walls the night before. A sprained leg might teach him something, I thought righteously. (In reality, it is unlikely.) At the very least it will slow him down.

Meanwhile, my bulls, Harvey (1/2 bull) and Leo (younger, entire bull) are regularly tussling in mock battles.

IMG_2074

They look at me as they walk by and I’m aware of a growing dread.

IMG_2077

One Response to Complications… Sigh

  1. Maya Walker says:

    Mastoblast is what I turn to when I have any signs of mastitis at all. I have no idea what it does, it looks like clear water, but I can’t say enough good things about it and always see results in 24 hours. We have begun using it as a preventive for one cow who is prone to freshening with a hard quarter. If I order it from Valleyvet before noon, I have it the next evening by UPS. I hope everything works out well, and please, carry a good club whenever you have to be with the bulls and use your “I am the scariest animal on the farm roar.”

Leave a Reply

