Stretched Too Thin

I am aware I am stretched too thin.

1. Finally got meds for Lucy’s little dog after multiple mix-ups with the new small animal vet, and two fruitless trips into town to pick them up.

2. My ewe Pixie is worse again. On her feet, swaying, but won’t eat or drink. Still no idea what is wrong. It “can’t” be any of the options, yet it must be something. I have tried almost everything I can think of.

3. Dorrie’s foster calf, Olaf (yes, I know I haven’t told you about him yet, but the list of things I haven’t had time to write about is long) has terrible scours, almost clear. Diarrhea will swiftly kill a calf. Last night I was at the barn giving him electrolytes at 10 PM.

4. My cow, Moxie, is due today and she appears to be in labor, bang on schedule. I am praying milk fever or any other complication does not enter the picture. I will leave work at lunch to race down to check her (and give Pixie and Olaf more electrolytes).

5. It’s snowing again.

Meanwhile, for a rest, I’m off to teach my 8th graders about the Nazi invasion of Russia.

3 Responses to Stretched Too Thin

  1. Jay Ward says:

    Have you tried biosponge for scours?

    Naturally binds up the coccidia that often causes scours

    Works wonders on alpaca cria (also ruminants)

    Jay

  2. Missy says:

    How’s pixie? Hoping she has mysteriously improved. 🙂

  3. Zephyr Hill says:

    I hope things are looking up!

Leave a Reply

