Godspeed, Allen!

allenandme

My dear friend Allen died suddenly last week. He had carried in wood to fill the woodbox and had his gloves on and the leash on the dog to take her for a walk when he dropped dead to the floor. Of course with congestive heart failure and multiple aneurysms he was not supposed to be carrying logs or walking the dog, but that was Allen. He lived his life until the last minute. When I would scold him he always said with a smile, “Everybody’s got to die sometime.”

And now sometime has arrived. I knew it was coming but still I was not prepared. My heart is aching. I would like to write about him in the future but for now I’m so sad I can’t organize my thoughts beyond the big one: my dear, gentle, funny friend is gone.

A part of me still can’t believe it.

13 Responses to Godspeed, Allen!

  1. Jay Ward says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I know from reading your blog you thought a lot of Allen and he was very kind to you. Jay Ward

  2. Sue says:

    I have loved your writings of your time spent with this gentle man and I am saddened to hear of your loss.

  3. Erika says:

    I loved reading about your adventures with Allen. So sorry for your loss.

  4. Viv says:

    I am sorry for your loss. It is the Allens of the work that give this life such richness.

  5. Amy says:

    Oh, S, I’m so sorry. He always sounded like such a character, gruff and no nonsense, but with such a big heart. Big hugs to you, friend. 😦

  6. I am so very sorry for your loss. No words.

  7. Shawn H says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about Allen. It’s such a final and hard thing to accept. The loss of a true friend is such a tragedy. For all that he meant to you, you can be assured you brought enrichment to his life, too.

  8. Jo says:

    I am very sorry. I loved reading about your and Allen’s friendship. I suspect he enjoyed working on your farm as much as you enjoyed working with him.

  9. So sorry Selden. I would venture a guess you breathed a lot of life into Allen by giving him a chance to continue doing what he loved and knew so well. Friends helping friends is always a good thing. I am sure Allen will be watching you from above with a smile and maybe a shake of his head some days.

  10. Missy says:

    Oh dear. I haven’t swung by for a few weeks and now I read you’ve lost a special friend. I’m sorry to hear it and I hope during this time you will be able to treasure your special memories of Allan and all you learned from him and all he helped you accomplish. Thank you for all the stories you have shared over the years. I feel like you let us get to know him too. I know you will miss him a lot. God bless you.

  11. Michele says:

    So sorry to hear about Allen passing. Have been playing catch up on your blog (missed almost a year). Loved reading about Allen… you could tell he was a special friend.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Allen was very special. I’d like to write about him, some sort of summary, but the task has felt too immense for now.

Leave a Reply

