Fencing the Back Pasture

IMG_3213

With Kyle’s help pounding posts and snapping on insulators, we have fenced 2/3 of the seven-acre back pasture. The cattle are ecstatic. I was still stringing line at 9 PM Tuesday night, so it was dark when I turned them out for the first time at 9:30. Still I could see their blurred shapes running and bucking with joy. By that time I was hot, sweaty, and tired, and had been attacked by midges and deer flies for a few hours. Still I could feel myself smiling in the humid night.

This field has been years in the making, evolving slowly as I have had money and time.

It was logged of its balsams in the fall of 2009.

DSCF5614

Allen began stumping it that fall and spent another week on the job in the spring of 2010. The weather did not cooperate.

IMG_0878

Leon finished the job later that summer, and then bulldozed, leaving a sour, lunar surface strewn with bits of logs.

IMG_2407

That year I dragged the loose stones, broken roots and logs to the woods on a sledge, hand-seeded the ground with 1800 pounds of winter rye, and rolled it in.

IMG_2471

In 2011 I mowed the acres of rye, weeds, and poplar saplings with a walk-behind brush-hog — I did not own a tractor — incidentally requiring an emergency room visit when the brush hog shot a stray rock into my leg (after that I wore soccer shin guards).

IMG_0029

2012 was a summer of family crisis and little progress, though I did luck out with some round bales that I unrolled for organic matter to feed the soil, and I spread as much manure as possible.

IMG_0533

That fall Damon brought me some free sandy fill, to begin to cover a long gully that Allen and Leon had crammed with stumps and boulders.

IMG_0802

In 2013, I bought a 1988 tractor. Allen and I put in treated 6×6 corner posts.

IMG_3095

Later that summer Allen and I buried an electric line under the barn paddock.

IMG_3132

Luke and I fenced about 1/6 of the field.

IMG_3600

2014 was another summer of family commitments and little progress, though Allen mowed the field — a huge help to keep the weeds and saplings down and add them to the mulch feeding the thin soil.

IMG_3340

(From a distance, the field looks beautiful and green. Close up, one can see it is still mostly inedible weeds. However, I am confident that with manure, lime, and time it will improve slowly but surely.)

Now, in 2015, I’m excited to be moving forward again.

This spring Damon brought me some more fill and soon we hope to smooth over the second half of the rocky gully.

IMG_3040

I have bought and stockpiled fencing line and insulators bit by bit over the last three years. I am now resigned to having to break down and buy the remaining 40 or so steel T-posts at $3.98 apiece. I have lucked out over the years with major hauls of $1 posts on Craigslist — I bought 100 in 2010 from a farmer downstate, neatly coordinating the purchase with a pick-up of my daughter in Albany — but I haven’t seen many advertised since.

When I buy the posts and a 10-foot gate, I will finally be set to finish this . . . seven-year project. Maybe this summer!

IMG_3217

2 Responses to Fencing the Back Pasture

  1. Ned says:

    Glad your back. It’s hard losing a close friend but we have to find the strength to move on.

    It’s good to see you have new help. It’s almost impossible to do it all by yourself.

    Nice looking pasture. Looks like all that work has paid off well for you.

    What kind of cows do you have? It looks like Jerseys and something else. I have an assortment myself. All small but not quite mini. Olive is a mid mini-Jersey cow that is probably the best decision I ever made for the homestead. I also have her heifer calf (about grown now) that may fall into the mini category. Then a short legged dexter cow and her heifer calf who is for sale. A lowline/Zebu/black baldy mix bull and a black baldy cow and her bull calf who is destined for the freezer. When I started looking at mini cows I didn’t know what a black baldy was. Found that it is basically just a black cow with a white face.

    I enjoy your posts. I found your site right before you took your leave. While you were away I read through your previous posts and have added you to my home page so that yours is one of the pages that open when my browser comes up.

    Take care
    Ned

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thank you, Ned! I appreciate your kind words. My cattle or mostly Jerseys. My first cow was said to be a Canadienne, and I took it on faith for years, but I now think she was probably a HoJo (half Holstein, half Jersey), or what is known around here as a “Black Jersey.” I have her daughter, Dorrie, now, and her granddaughter, Elsa.

Leave a Reply

