Breathing Deeply

I learned yesterday that the move that has hovered as a question mark over our heads is now a reality. It appears I may be scheduling a U-Haul moving van for Sunday or Tuesday, depending on whether the house closing happens tomorrow or Monday.

I was on the road all day yesterday. I drive sheep to Vermont tomorrow. I go back to work next Tuesday. I am taking Lucy to look at colleges next Thursday and Friday.

Therefore today and Saturday are my days to pack everything we own. We have lived in this apartment for sixteen years and have a great deal of “stuff,” including 23 six-foot bookcases. Every room in the apartment is paneled with books.  Moreover, as both DH and I lost parents in the last decade, there are boxes of inherited things under beds and tables, and stacked in closets. The garage is crammed. I can feel my heart race and I am breathing deeply.

DH will return from China exhausted late Saturday night. I hope I will have the apartment significantly stripped and packed by then.

The house to which we are moving is absolutely lovely. We are very lucky. It should be a fabulous new chapter in all our lives for the next five years … once I get us there.

cushman

2 Responses to Breathing Deeply

  1. Jane Welker says:

    I can’t wait to come visit you. Good luck with your move! 🙂

  2. Erika says:

    Wow, you sure do have your work cut out for you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

