The Stress of Uncertainty

The new house sale closed Friday afternoon. I started packing up the apartment yesterday. Then I learned there is a possibility we may not be moving to the new house after all. I have scheduled kids to come this afternoon to help move furniture and boxes. I rented a U-Haul truck and it is sitting in the driveway.

I would be fine with not moving. But not knowing the plan is making me anxious and testy. I understand that this is a “first world problem.” Nevertheless it is hard to be part of a community where so many people have opinions and potential control over your life.

DH got back from China exhausted. His 14-hour flight had been delayed, and despite sprinting through both terminals in Chicago, he missed his connection. Thus he spent the night dozing on the floor of the airport before being able to catch a flight and drive home.

I had spent Friday driving eleven sheep to Vermont, a commitment I had made two weeks earlier. It was a lovely day but a long, long grind in a pressured time.

We are both very tired. I know we will get through this, no matter what the outcome, but I’m ready to be done with limbo.

 

2 Responses to The Stress of Uncertainty

  1. Ned says:

    I don’t know how you do it. I have to have much more stability and control over my life. The on again off again would drive me off the deep end. I’ll keep you in my prayers as you navigate this uncertain time.

  2. Zephyr Hill says:

    Your new home looks simply gorgeous! I hope everything works out well and the uncertainty gets settled really quickly.

Leave a Reply

