Moving

IMG_0164

We are in the thick of moving. This photo was taken Sunday evening when DH, Lucy, and her friend Anabell and I were all having frozen pizza on the new house porch in a cheerful stupor.

I found out Sunday before noon that the move was a go. Kyle and I spent hours cleaning out the spaces at the farm where most of our things will go into storage, and Sunday afternoon I worked with kids to pack a truck and start hauling. Kyle has been my indispensable right hand man. I could not be doing this without him.

I started my school year yesterday so my time for work on the move is now limited. We are a little more than half moved out of our apartment. Tomorrow Lucy and I head to Maine for college visits. I think it will be another week before I have this old apartment bare and clean.

Last night I sold my dear cow Dorrie to a very nice couple about an hour away. They are starting an organic dairy. They do rotational grazing and farm with work horses. I think it’s a perfect home for Dorrie. I was sad to see her go but relieved to find such a great home.

IMG_0169

With the big steers and Dorrie gone and so many of the sheep sold (and the rest still down at Betty’s) the barn feels almost empty.

So many changes in my life these days, and such an exhausting pace, it’s a little hard to keep my balance. However I know the changes will be positive in the end.

When I feel too sad I sit with the dogs on the porch and look at the beautiful view.

5 Responses to Moving

  1. Ned says:

    That is a beautiful view. I’d take that over the convenience of an apartment any day. Reminds me of my time in Alaska.

  2. Erika says:

    Beautiful location. I hope you are happy there for many years!

  3. Shawn says:

    Did you sell Dorrie to the Kimballs? If so, then you already know where you might possibly get a bull calf when you need one. 🙂

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Hi Shawn, sorry I have been busy and distracted with lambing that I haven’t followed up! No, I didn’t sell Dorrie to the Kimballs, I sold her to the Fountains. 🙂 But the Kimballs are a good idea! 🙂 I also have the name of another dairy, not far from them; the woman contacted me last fall JUST AFTER I drove all afternoon to pick up Mel Gibson! 🙂

  4. Shawn says:

    Having extra options is always a good thing!

Leave a Reply

