A Haircut

Sel and Stash

Oh my goodness! Almost three weeks since my last post! Life has been hectic and, in the Stephen Leacock line, I have flung myself on my horse and ridden madly off in all directions. Paperwork, teaching, driving, holding the farm together with a lick and a promise, and dreaming longingly of summer.

However it occurred to me that I hadn’t let my family know that I cut my hair last December. Yesterday I took this photo, my first-ever selfie.

Yes, I know chopping all your hair off is the classic sign of female stress. And I certainly was stressed and unhappy last fall. But for me, cutting my hair was more a reflection of making a change, turning in a new direction. I’m looking for more balance, less frenzy. I like to work but I am realizing that I have been so busy these last few years that I have been working all the time, scheduling myself hour by hour and waking up in the night worrying about all the things I haven’t been able to accomplish. That’s not likely to change quickly but I am recognizing that it should, indeed, change.

It’s strange to associate a new life awareness with a haircut, but it made sense to me at the time.

As for the cut itself, it’s easy and quick to take care of. I have occasional trouble recognizing myself in photos but I think that has more to do with the aging process than with the length of my hair. I may decide to grow it back, but for this summer, at least, I’ll keep it short.

It will be under a baseball cap most of the time, anyway.

 

2 Responses to A Haircut

  1. Newly says:

    Lovely! xoxo

  2. Michele says:

    I like the new cut! You are not alone… I have also cut my hair when it was time to make a change or face a new challenge in my life.

Leave a Reply

