Lambies

IMG_0220

On Tuesday I moved my sheep to Allen’s peninsula.

He built the peninsula in 2009, as a hiding place for thousands of rocks.

IMG_0650

The whole peninsula is stone, five feet deep, held together behind a boulder retaining wall, with a thin skin of soil over the top. 

DSCF5575

(Allen smoothing the dirt on a dark morning in October, 2009. Notice the garage is still unfinished all these years later! However, I comfort myself that the cabin has been moved.)

I didn’t have money for grass seed, and was distracted by many other projects, so progress has been slow. Here’s the peninsula in 2011.

IMG_0325
However, after five years of mowing the weeds and feeding the ewes hay there every fall when they came in from summer pasture, today the front 3/4 is thick with timothy, sown by seeds dropped from the hay.

Though I was so tired I was in a brain fog, I looked at the contented sheep and could hear Allen in my mind telling me, “Throw some grass seed on it and your lambies can play up there.”

IMG_0217

How happy he would be, to see it now.

   *    *    *

Today it is 39° F, windy, wet, and raw, and feels like 30°. I am so grateful for this week’s moisture, I don’t mind at all.

Leave a Reply

