Start of the New Regime

IMG_0536

Yesterday I moved the sheep to the bottom of the south pasture to start the new pasture improvement program. The sheep grazed this area a month ago, and then Kyle mowed the weeds off. (Yes, I’m aware that a month is not long enough to avoid parasites. I’ll worm the flock more often this summer.)

The spring flush of new grass is past. We haven’t had a lot of rain. To top it off, this section has particularly low fertility; thus, it has not regrown much. I put the sheep on it yesterday morning with plenty of hay.

They were happy to drink cool fresh water as I filled the trough from the truck.

IMG_0542

But their main reaction appeared to be shocked disbelief. They ignored the hay and scavenged among the short weeds.

IMG_0539

All day long as I passed the pen, working on chores, they cried at me reproachfully.

I had to remind myself over and over that fresh hay, alfalfa pellets, clean water, and bright sunshine were not a cruelty.

4 Responses to Start of the New Regime

  1. Shawn says:

    LOL Animals can really lay on the guilt, can’t they? Like my dog, (im)patiently awaiting his treat when he knows there was a bone involved in dinner. You can hear him sigh repeatedly until you take the scraps out.
    It will be all right. They’ll live. 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    Curious what you use to truck in fresh water – trying to figure this out for myself as I move mine to a new pasture, quite a distance from the water source.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      https://fairhopefarm.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/shepherding-improvements/ Hi Beth: After a year of trucking water in an open water trough (lost lots of water) and then a 325-gallon water tank (too big for me to take in and out of the truck without stress), for the past five years I have used a 125-gallon sap/water tank. I see various water totes on Craigslist… the trick is to make sure they are a manageable size and put a hose bib/spigot on them so they can be fitted with a hose. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

