The Cattle Are Out

…on the back field, as of 9 PM last night. After a day of driving guests and doing errands in town, I began working on the fence in late afternoon. I had to stop to cook dinner and then while DH took Lucy and one of our guests to the movies, I returned to the farm. Stash kept me company as I walked the field perimeter with heavy reels of rope slung around my neck, hanging lines on all the fence posts.

IMG_0777

At last all the ropes were up. The daylight was fading fast when I turned the cattle out. They stood in the barnyard, looking for hay, until I drove out to the back field and stood at the open gate, calling.

Elsa was the first to investigate.

IMG_0778

Then all four began to trot toward me, ears swiveled forward in curiosity.

IMG_0781

When they saw the open gate, they burst into a run.

IMG_0783

Whee! The light was too low for decent photos, but here is Skippy racing into the field.

IMG_0795

Elsa watched him go. In another moment, she was galloping to catch up with the boys.

Even Moxie began to canter.

IMG_0804

I wired the last gate as the cattle ran around bucking and kicking in the gathering darkness, too excited to eat.

I will have to bury the conduit in the coming week, replace some temporary connectors, and wire a new charger, but when I had 5000 volts on the fence I was satisfied for the night. I drove out by headlights at 9:30 PM.

The back field is fenced at last.

2 Responses to The Cattle Are Out

  1. Shawn says:

    Way to go! I know how good that feeling is when you turn them into a new pasture. Bet you smiled all the way home.

Leave a Reply

